Returning my Ohai Tenor...

vahn

Reaction score
So finally something bad to say abt the 'Ohai... It started seperating on me.

100_6052.jpg

I have to send it back to get it repaired. To anyone who got an Ohai: I would stay away from flourocarbon strings, i think the higher tension did it though I had EJ46 High Tension D'addario pro artes on with no problem.

I tried the Savarez Alliance which have a higher tension and I got intonation problems and some buzzing so I switched right back to the pro artes I had just taken off (my A string had a nick but they still played) and got the buzz that had not been there before w/ the pro artes.

On a similar note: an 8 string is designed for 8 strings of tension correct? so if I destrung 4 of them, could my Lanikai 0-8E handle 4 strings of Savarez Alliance tension? I really loved the sound of those strings, and I was thinking about turning my 8-string into a low G 4-string while my Ohai is gone for a month or so.

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination - but I can't imagine that kind of damage being done by fluorocarbon strings - if the neck was separating, maybe - but what I see in the photo is the back, and that just seems hinky. Besides - they're built to handle ukulele strings, regardless of the manufacture, aren't they?

Let us know if they say anything about it when they get it - that is a scary separation!

Looks like they just got skimpy on the glue. I've always been told that when it comes to woodworking, the glue joint is actually stronger then the glue. Not something that would be detectable with a quality check before moving the instrument out of the factory. Probably a new person working on the line that day and no one checking his work on that step.

But yeah, I imagine it is a hassle and disappointing to be short the uke and sending it back.