1st Uke!!

Hi,got my 1st uke today(my fingers are already aching lol)in fact its my 1st ever instrument so i'm a total newbie to playing one.
I've followed a few lessons from this guy on youtube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7Oo4KS2K6Q&feature=related
has any body else followed him and how did you get on?

Hey congrats on the new uke and welcome to the forum! I haven't heard of that guy you linked to, we have our own master-ukulele instructor, Aldrine Guerrero - I'm sure you've heard of him - check him out!

He has all sorts of great videos and does his lessons in a really interesting way:

http://ukuleleunderground.com/category/videos/

Cheers for the links chaps:).Got myself a cheap makala soprano to begin with,and just waiting for my tuner now.Oh yeah and i need two new hands that can play a few notes LOL.

Hey
I was going to post a 'hello - I got my first uke on monday' thread when I clicked to read this one first and was blown away when I saw where you're from! I'm from Kettering, Northamptonshire too!

Welcome SuperSoul,

Are there any other ukers meeting in your area? The nearest club that I know of is in Cambridge, but that's not exactly close. Have a look on the UKukes website, there might be something nearer.

Pick or fingers, it's all good, but if you learn to use your fingers first you can always try a pick later. You can do more with fingers.

Enjoy your uking,

John Colter.

Hey
I was going to post a 'hello - I got my first uke on monday' thread when I clicked to read this one first and was blown away when I saw where you're from! I'm from Kettering, Northamptonshire too!

Cheers everyone,willl try a pick but its fingers for the mo.Wow small world lyssa!!

What type of pick should i use?
you can get feltrums, or i think some people use like, soft rubber things, wedgie or something?
i would try a variety if you're interested in using a pick, and then choose your favourite... you may find you prefer using your fingers, though.