future uke beginner, ha!

j cal

Reaction score
Hello all!

I've been lurking around for quite awhile now and finally decided to throw up a post!

I've been playing the guitar for a couple years now and want to pick up my first uke! I've been watching videos and just fell in love with the sound and fun that the uke brings.

Well, of course this post will come with a question so here goes...

I'm one to buy quality the first time. I'm definitely in no means in the position to say that money is no object, but I've saved a couple hundred to spend on a uke, let's say $400.

Now my questionS:

Since I've been playing the guitar, what size uke should I start off on? I was thinking the concert, but the tenor is "sounding" more like a size that would fit me better (coming from playing the guitar).

Also, my sister is traveling to Hawaii next week and I was wondering if it would be cheaper if she was to purchase a uke for me there and bring it back. Is there no substantial difference purchasing a uke at a third party music store in the US compared to purchasing a uke in a Hawaii that is made there?

Is my price range out of the question if I want to purchase solid wood instead of laminate?

Sorry for the long post, and I want to say thank you in advance!

-Joel from Chicago Illinois!

Last edited:
Joel,

Welcome. I hesitate to say I came over from guitar as I really just banged around on one. But the baritone is a completely natural transition. It's tuned like the upper 4 guitar strings. You can even use all your guitar chords. But it doesn't sound very uke like.

The tenor is what a lot of guitarists opt for. The wider frets won't take too much getting used too. It's tuned like a soprano and concert so you'll have to learn new chords. Tenors are good for picking. If you see videos of Jake and Jason Amimoto you'll see what I mean.

The concert still has a workable fretboard. Sounds very uke like. I think this is a good compromise.