19 inch scale classical guitar

cornfedgroove

Reaction score
I figure my baritone uke is effectively a classical guitar...could I just widen the neck and add a set of nylon strings to make a small classical?

They both share those four strings...is the tension about the same on those four, effectively adding only the tension from the low 2?

I am not a luthier...I'm a hack hobbyist. Someone give me the technicals please

How would you just widen the neck?? You'd need a new bridge too and would have to change the compensation for the strings
The string tension would depend on how you tune it. I assume with a short scale length you would tune it up a 3rd or so?

There's really no way I've ever heard of to simply widen the neck. Replacing the neck with a wider one would be a complicated task best left to a luthier, and the cost would likely make it prohibitive relative to the value of the uke and the cost of just buying a small-scale guitar.

What is the neck width at the nut? Compare that to the width on a 1/4 size guitar. If they're comparable, it might be doable, but again, it would be more difficult than something a "hack hobbyist" could undertake.

Not only would you have to replace the bridge/saddle and nut, the headstock would have to be modified to accommodate guitar tuners. That's a lot of work, even for a competent luthier.

If you want a small-scale guitar, I'd suggest you just buy one. You can probably get a Yamaha or other student model for not much more than $100.

no no no...

I should clarify...i dont mess with "real" instruments. I'm building cigar box ones. Like taking my cigar box baritone ukulele DGBE...If I started a new one on the same 19 inch scale and made a wider neck to fit the EA strings. Would it tune EADGBE the same as a regular guitar with classical strings? or are those completely different requiring a different tuning altogether.