A three-K question

ichadwick

Reaction score
Okay, you owners of those K-series ukes, why is your favoured brand the best? What model would you recommend? (Kamaka, Kanilea and Ko'olau of course).

I have been contemplating a serious upgrade for a few months, in the MSRP range of $1K. And from everything I've read here, the three Ks stand out in that group.

I'm interested in your comments, both positive and negative about these brands- and any also within that price range I should contemplate.

Or am I over reaching and should look at something more modestly priced, but not as well appreciated as it should be? Are the K ukes overpriced and simpy status ukes, or are they worth their price? Are there others - Ponos, Honus, and so on - that are their equivalent in sound and quality but with a lower price?​

You forgot KoAloha ;)

Can only speak for the Kanile'a. I just got a K2 Tenor.

Beautiful sound, with excellent sustain. I've probably only put a couple of hours of playing time in since I received it so it has not had time to open up, yet. But the immediate sound has very nice highs, with a solid bark, i.e., the bottom is not at all muddy.

I'm very impressed by the workmanship and the playability: The neck is easy to get around. I had it strung low G and I feel it is well balanced.

I've not played any of the other Ks, so I have no comparison for you, but I always advocate buying a handmade instrument as they keep their value and feel good in the hands. So my vote..is yeah, go for it.

I really don't think you can go wrong with any of the 4 K's. I absolutely love my Kamaka Tenor but I am already dreaming of a Pineapple Sundae. The tone of the Kanilea Tenor gives the Kamaka a run for the money.

I have both a Kamaka tenor and a Kanile'a tenor.