Finally getting good enough to play the stuff I want to play!

bicarbon8

Reaction score
Sorry to post such a useless thread, but I'm just so excited that I had to say something.

Today I tried playing "Lie in our Graves" by Dave Matthews and it actually sounded right!!! I'm super-excited because many years ago I tried guitar (for approx. 1 month) in the hopes of playing this song but eventually gave up when I realized my hands were too small to hold the proper strings.

Now it's been about 10 years since I gave up on guitar and about 2 years since I started playing the Uke (though admittedly I didn't really start playing until several months ago) and I'm finally able to play that song to my liking...

Anyway, thanks for reading, and thank you to this site for being such a great learning resource!!!

Yay, I'm so happy for you! I can't imagine how it feels but hopefully one day I will! :D

I picked up my guitar today after not touching it for a month because the uke was in the way. It felt huge!!! I couldn't get wait to get back to my baby.

I'm still having trouble with timing but I can see improvement every day. This was not a usueless post because it reminded me of how I connect with my ukulele so much more than I connected with the guitar. Most of the songs I play on the guitar come from my head. The songs I play on the uke come from the heart. ;)

i know how you feel buddy.. my whole goal was to be able to play Bob Marley and now I can :)

feels good to accomplish a goal doesn't it?

That is an awesome feeling, and one that never goes away. Hopefully you will keep playing, keep getting better, and keep raising the bar on your expectations of yourself. It felt great being able to get through some strumming songs, then to some fingerpicking, and now it feels awesome to me to get through Gently Weeps, Dom's arrangement of Something, and other chord melodies.

Congratulations!