Interchangable Chords?

username217

Reaction score
I started playing lucky by jason mraz, and notice that my G and Eminor chords sound pretty much the same. my ukes tuned standard gcea. it's probably something obvious since i usually play by ear, and not really from tabs. any suggestions?

Suggestions for what?

thanks for the constructive responses. (sorry for the vague question) i was curious if somehow my tuning, strumming off or strings are getting bad. I prematurely apologize for my lack in ukulele knowledge.

thanks for the constructive responses. (sorry for the vague question) i was curious if somehow my tuning, strumming off or strings are getting bad. I prematurely apologize for my lack in ukulele knowledge.

Sorry for the posts from the peanut section. G and Em sound alike because there's only one note that different between them. It's normal. In jazz, they call those chords "substitions."

I started playing lucky by jason mraz, and notice that my G and Eminor chords sound pretty much the same. my ukes tuned standard gcea. it's probably something obvious since i usually play by ear, and not really from tabs. any suggestions?
An Em chord is a type of a G major.....

G, Am, Bm, C, D7, Em, F#m7b5 are all part of G....

First welcome to UU. I would recommend that you read up on theory. I play by ear so I can't really help ya.

I apologise for my less than stellar comment...I s'pose I didn't really understand what you were getting at :)

(kinda like when my hubby sees a suggestion/opinion box on forms, he usually mentions his love of pie.)

I s'pose you could swap out the chords, but it will end up sounding different. But, different can be cool.

Em is the relative minor for G. Em is in the sixth position. Em can be substituted for G. In some songs, the major chord turns or resolves into the relative minor chord, like from G to Em. I hope this helps, I know someone else can explain this further.