Ohana or Pono, need advice/opinions

Ian_001

Reaction score
Hello, first let me say I am new to the ukulele world as well as this forum which has been very helpful in my ukulele learning adventure. 6 months ago I bought a $50 soprano Lanikia ukulele. Since then I have come to love playing my instrument. However, I have come down with a fever and the only cure is more ukulele!!!......

since a recent acquisition in cash I have decided to upgrade to a tenor in the $300 range. I have spent days researching ukuleles and have narrowed my choices to the Pono ohai tenor and Ohana TK35 tenor. Since I am living in the bay area, I visted Ukulele Source in San Jose last week to try out their Ohana's. The shop owners were very nice and helpful and let me play their ukuleles. I liked the sound of the Ohana but, as many have noted, the action was very high and akward to me. I also payed a visit to Gryphon strings in Palo Alto. Unfortunately the only Pono Ohai series available for me to play was the concert. The Pono was a gorgeous instrument although heavy and very quiet sounding. The action was far more playable than the Ohana. I am not sure which instrument to get. I want to give ukulele source my money because they were so helpful and insightful but the high and awkward action on the Ohana gives me reservations. I prefer the aesthetics and playability of the Pono but its quiet sound also gives me reservation. Both instruments will cost me roughly the same amount of money and I am choosing between them because I can buy each of them in a store(I want to avoid buying online). I realize I could probably lower the action on the Ohana myself, but I would be too squeamish to operate on my brand new ukulele.

Do you guys prefer Ohanas or Ponos? are their other factors I should consider?

I am sorry if this thread is in the wrong place

Thank you for the help,:)
Ian