help with chosing a new uke

sophie358

Reaction score
i've been playing for about 2 months now on a mahalo soprano that i bought off ebay on a whim. I bought a cheap uke to start because i didn't know if i would actually bother to learn but i've gotten really into it. I've noticed some problems with tuning (all the strings are in tune but the chords sound out of tune) and tinnyness. I've seen a lot of other people post on her with the same problems with this uke so it seems i just chose poorly. So now i've decided to buy a new uke to get a nicer sound. However, i literally have no idea where to start. I can't afford more than about £75 (i think that's around $125). I'd be really greatful for some advice. Also, there are no shops anywhere near me that sell decent ukes so it will have to be an internet buy so i can't go in and get a feel for different types which is a problem.

Another thing, the uke's i've seen people playing all seems to come in different sizes. The one i have now is very small but i like the look and sound ones that are a big bigger. What's the difference?

Thanks!

I improved the intonation on my Mahalo - as others have - by filing down the nut slots a little at a time - it's far from perfect but it's useable.

The uke sizes are:

soprano or standard - 33cm scale (g'c'e'a' or a'd'f#'b')
concert - 38cm scale (g'c'e'a' or gc'e'a')
tenor - 43cm scale (gc'e'a', g'c'e'a', or d'gbe')
baritone - 48cm scale (dgbe')

Personally I consider the tenor and baritone to be small, 4-string guitars. The soprano is slightly too small for me (difficult to play some chords) so I'm leaning towards buying a cheap concert: http://www.wmcmusic.co.uk/ukulele/kala-makala-concert-ukulele-mk-c.html