PDA

View Full Version : Learnin Uke

Beetbox
08-01-2009, 12:19 PM
Hey guys im a drummer thats 15 years old with my great grandpas uke that still plays great but I dont want to use it since its an antique. Ive learned how to tune it and thats all and im lookin to buy a new uke. What are good ukulele brands and what is the price for a good uke. Also I want an acoustic uke but if I perform will a microphone in front of it work. This is my first string instrument that im learning so I also have to learn how to strum. Any tips for beginners? :shaka:

ukulelearp
08-01-2009, 12:32 PM
Hey guys im a drummer thats 15 years old with my great grandpas uke that still plays great but I dont want to use it since its an antique. Ive learned how to tune it and thats all and im lookin to buy a new uke. What are good ukulele brands and what is the price for a good uke. Also I want an acoustic uke but if I perform will a microphone in front of it work. This is my first string instrument that im learning so I also have to learn how to strum. Any tips for beginners? :shaka:

Welcome the the website...

Let's see:

1. What's your price range? Some good values brands for beginners are Kala, Ohana, and Lanikai, among others. If you're willing to spend a bit mroe there are other choices.

2. Acoustic in front of a mic will work, but if it's a solo performance an acoustic-electric may be a better choice, for the clearer sound. Either way will work fine though.

3. There are some great lessons on this site, but for actual first time players I'd suggest two places that helped when I was just starting:

Pineapple Pete's Uke School (http://www.ukeschool.com/)

and

MusicTeacher2009's Youtube (http://www.ukeschool.com/)

Feel free to ask any questions here, people are generally very helpful.

Beetbox
08-01-2009, 12:43 PM
Well over the summer ive earned 300 dollars spending cash and ive still got a couple of weeks left until school.

ukulelearp
08-01-2009, 12:52 PM