Any Future as a Luthier?

Ahnko Honu

Reaction score
A little background; I had an industrial injury back in early 2004 and 3 back surgeries and over 6 years of physical therapy later I will finally be able to start vocational rehabilitation in a couple months. My insurance provider will pay for any schooling. I have been a carpenter and woodworker pretty much my whole adult life, and I'm pushing 50. I have always wanted to build 'ukuleles, I believe I have the skills, I just need the knowledge. Since I'm on Oahu I was thinking the Hanalima 'Ia School. VR would also pay for any addition equipment I may need along with the schooling. Question is with current economy is it a worth while pursuit? I don't want to be rich by any means, I just want to be happy, and able to pay my bills, and be comfortable. Can this be done as a luthier, especially a luthier who has not made a name for himself yet?
My other options were computer CAD drawing , and Surveying. I prefer working with my hands and being outside of an office. Is this a stupid dream? :confused:
I am posting here so experienced luthiers who's majority income is from 'ukulele making can reply. Mahalo nui guys.

Uncle, Im sure it can be done.

With your skills building ukuleles wont be the hard part.

I may not be the one you want to answer this, but.

For what it is worth Im having a real hard go at it. All my money came out of my pocket, and now it is all gone. Ukuleles are here, but they need to be in someone elses hands, if you know what I mean.

The made in a factory in china ukueles make it a little hard for a me, being a new builder, the big names and low prices take a lot of the market. But I bet you will command a certain respect from the global market based on your location alone.

If someone else is gong to buy tools and send you to school, go for it. Are they going to buy you a stock of wood to accompany all of the logs you already have?