Best blues sounding uke?

LindsayOfSaturn

Reaction score
Rohnert Park, CA. The sleepiest little suburban to
Been playing my uke and playing a little blues, I really love it, and I think it will probably become my main playing type on the uke. I like it a lot, and while i am still learning the blues I am already thinking about that sound for my next uke. Right now I have a tenor ovation uke, which is nice, but a tad bit bright. I'm looking for that deep bluesy southern drawl with some twang! I wouldn't want to go any smaller though, Probably stay at a tenor, or move up to a baritone uke(although I really dont want to have to re-learn chords in a way) for the next one. I like a big sized uke. Which one do you guys think fits the bill? I'm liking the Risa Ellie Tenor Uke for the blues sound but at about $500 US that's a bit much, I'm a poor college student! :eek: I may not be able to buy my next uke till I am out of college :( but.... what do you guys think?

Last edited:
Been playing my uke and playing a little blues, I really love it, and I think it will probably become my main playing type on the uke. I like it a lot, and while i am still learning the blues I am already thinking about that sound for my next uke. Right now I have a tenor ovation uke, which is nice, but a tad bit bright. I'm looking for that deep bluesy southern drawl with some twang! I wouldn't want to go any smaller though, Probably stay at a tenor, or move up to a baritone uke(although I really dont want to have to re-learn chords in a way) for the next one. I like a big sized uke. Which one do you guys think fits the bill? I'm liking the Risa Ellie Tenor Uke for the blues sound but at about $500 US that's a bit much, I'm a poor college student! :eek: I may not be able to buy my next uke till I am out of college :( but.... what do you guys think?

I think a baritone is definitely the way to go for you.
If budget is a concern I would go with a Kala...great instrument great price.