How do I get better....

EdLew1s

Reaction score
I've been playing for about 2 weeks and in the first week I got from a complete novice to intermediate.... The only thing is now I'm sorta stuck and don't think I'm really improving???????

HELP!

Don't rush it. You see a lot of improvement at first because you're going from "nothing" to "something" which is 100% overnight.

After that, the progress is more subtle. Just keep up what you're doing and the chords will come easier, your fingers will respond a bit quicker (and stop hurting), and eventually you won't have to think about what your hands are doing, they just do it.

Keep it up, you're doing fine. :shaka:

well, I love this cliche a lot so here it comes:
visualize the action, then actualize the vision

Listen to some other uke music (especially like stuff on youtube where you can see exactly what people are doing) and then figure out what you want to work on from what you like. If its something that you don't think you can work out by yourself, then ask us and if we can't help you we'll sure point you in the right direction.

Practice.

You can do a couple things to make your practice more productive, in the end though you have to put in the time.

Things to make your practice more effective:

Reach; strive to do things a little harder than you are comfortable with. Be careful not to over-reach; that can be counter productive. But always be working on something that is slightly beyond your current capabilities.

Songs You Love; find songs that you love and work on those. You will play more frequently if you like the material.

Repitition; this can be very, very annoying. But work on the same things over and over and over. Even when you think you have something nailed, keep at it. You need it to not just be good—you need it to be automatic. You need to be able to play it without thinking.