PDA

View Full Version : Instructional Videos Worth It?

the.ronin
08-05-2009, 07:41 PM
So far I've been learning the uke through sites like this one and YouTube videos. I'm not sure I want to take formal lessons mostly because of time constraints. I was wondering if an instructional dvd would be worth it? If so, any recommendations?

Citrus
08-05-2009, 08:37 PM
I've done some of the DVD stuff. All I can say about it is that it's not nearly up to par with all the stuff that aldrine and the dominator put out.

gotrice415510
08-05-2009, 09:40 PM
there is so much stuff here ad youtube that formal lessons are a waste.... formal lessons are usually slow and u could probably learn everything faster by yourself.

buddhuu
08-05-2009, 10:47 PM
It depends on many things.

I am self-taught on every instrument I play - except fiddle. That was so different to what I was used to that I needed some pointers to get me started. Once I had the basic techniques down, however, I reverted to self-teaching.

If you want to learn some music theory and how to read music, then formal lessons can be very helpful. Another advantage of formal lessons is that the presence of a teacher provides motivation to practice. If lesson day arrives and you haven't done your homework then the panic sets in!

Some people find musical concepts naturally quite easy to grasp, and playing techniques easy to grasp with practice. Those people may well be best suited to self-tuition. Other people need a little more in the way of hand-holding and guidance, especially at the start. Those people may benefit from a few lessons.

Uke is a relatively simple instrument, and as such it is probably a little easier to learn to a fair standard than most others. There are many, many videos online as well as many chord charts, tabs, lyric/chord sheets, online tuners and more.