Beginner Needs Advice, please!

Awww_Uke

Reaction score
Hey guys I wanna pick up an instrument when i go to college so i wanted to pick up something that was something smallish and not extremely complicated, so i settled on a uke. I wanna be able to play common songs that people would know, so that is the type of music I wanna be able to play. I just dont know what kind of uke to get. I wanna spend under like $60 or $70. I dont really want a soprano because I don't really like that higher pitched sound and I feel like some people might think it's annoying. So i what do you think is good for a tenor or concert size for an absolute beginner. I have never played a string instrument before so I read that a baritone wouldn't be that good for me.

Thanks!

If you don't really like the sound of a ukulele, are you sure it's a good idea to get one?

You might be better off with a small keyboard. Buying one for kids may seem embarrassing at first, but why should it really?

I dont really want a soprano because I don't really like that higher pitched sound and I feel like some people might think it's annoying. So i what do you think is good for a tenor or concert size for an absolute beginner.

Tenors and concerts are tuned to exactly the same pitches as a soprano (usually).

The different sizes of ukuleles aren't like the differences between soprano, alto, and tenor saxophones (which actually do play different pitch ranges). It's more like the difference between an upright piano, a baby grand piano, and a concert grand piano. All three pianos have 88 keys and play the same notes, but the bigger you go, the richer and louder the sound.

So if you find a good soprano at an attractive price (like this one), I say go for it.

JJ