Experienced ukers: What do you know now that you wish you'd known when you started?

yookyoolayleeh

Reaction score
Hi all,

Experienced players - what do you know or understand about uking now that you wish you could have understood earlier? (And I don't just mean "Don't have children - you'll need the money for ukes.") As a beginner myself, this is something I'd love to find out.

(I thought about posting this in the beginners' area, but I think it's more appropriate in Uke Talk).

The first two weeks are the hardest part. Once you get past that, it's not so bad.

That some of most difficult-looking chord formations (Bb, Cdim, Fm7, etc) can become matters of habit if I but practice them for a while.

Also, that some strums like triplets or "double strums" can likewise become natural with enough practice.

I suppose I've learned that with enough practice, just about anything is possible! I'm still learning this and convincing myself that it's true!

I wish I'd known that if it sounds right, regardless of what any book, teacher, or rule tells you, then it is NOT wrong.

I wish I'd known that if it sounds right, regardless of what any book, teacher, or rule tells you, then it is NOT wrong.

I agree. I remember after a while I thought the way I played Ds were wrong (I only use one finger and bend it oddly) and someone told me a similar thing. If it feels right, do it ;)

I wish someone could have told me "strings stretch, calm down".

I wish someone could have told me "strings stretch, calm down".
Hahaha, that's how I felt when I first got my uke. I was wondering why it kept going out of tune... but it's good now.

What I know now

Improvement does not come consistently so don't expect obvious daily changes in your playing. It is usually more subtle than that as your mind and body adjust to small things. Have faith in the rehearsal process. Just keep practicing, little by little, bit by bit, and you will improve. Even five minutes of quality time is good.:)