PDA

View Full Version : Got My Worth Strings (Noob Perspectives)

the.ronin
08-10-2009, 08:17 AM
By way of background, I only started playing the uke just shy of a month ago. I picked up a Cordoba 25CK and just got new strings in the mail over the weekend. The newer Cordoba ukes are coming with Aquila Nylguts but mine did not. So picked up some Worth (brown medium) ( http://www.elderly.com/accessories/names/worth-bm-soprano-/-concert-uke-set--WSBM.htm) strings.

The first thing I noticed was that these strings were way thinner than what came stock with my uke. One of common comments Iíve read about these strings is that they are not very loud compared to Aquilas. I think they are just fine. I also read that they have a more subdued tone but Iím not sure I am noticing that. Then again I have nothing to compare to except the old strings. I will say these have a crisper tone ... especially when I plucked (instead of strummed) my old strings, they tended to have this vibrating noise rather than a solid clear tone. Not sure if that makes sense. These strings also keep their tune better ... I remember having to tune the stock strings all the time. I was expecting the same again but thatís not the case.

Again, I donít really have anything to compare against, so take this for what itís worth. But this brings up a question Ė other than the time it takes to tune and repalce, is it bad to keep changing strings? I want to experiment with others.

Actually another question then ... how long generally before new strings ďacclimateĒ themselves to your uke and show their true capabilities assuming daily usage (say 1-2 hours per day avg).

toubisard
08-10-2009, 09:06 AM
Your Worth strings will be happy on their new Cordoda by Friday at the latest.
Do the Cordoba Ukuleles in the USA come with the strings through the sound board then up through the bridge or are they tied in the usual (guitar) way?

the.ronin
08-10-2009, 09:48 AM
Cool. Canít wait till Friday. :D