PDA

View Full Version : struggling to strum upwards :(

Chessabelle
08-10-2009, 08:41 AM
I started learning the uke about a week ago and have been playing really basic songs and strumming with a pick.
I'm now trying to follow Aldrine's Uke lesson on Island in the sun but i'm finding it really hard to strum upwards without my finger getting caught. Does anyone have this problem or know why I have this problem? Ifyou do, how do i fix it?

sukie
08-10-2009, 09:23 AM
I started learning the uke about a week ago and have been playing really basic songs and strumming with a pick.
I'm now trying to follow Aldrine's Uke lesson on Island in the sun but i'm finding it really hard to strum upwards without my finger getting caught. Does anyone have this problem or know why I have this problem? Ifyou do, how do i fix it?

I'm not sure what your problem is, but I know how to fix it. Go slowly and when it feels right, speed up a little bit. THen just keep going. My mantra is practice, practice, practice. Boring advice but it usually works.:D

Isn't playing ukulele fun? Welcome to UU.

Chessabelle
08-10-2009, 09:38 AM
Thanks, yes it is :) I'm wondering if it's because I have no real nails to speak of. Would it be easier if i grew them?

buddhuu
08-10-2009, 09:44 AM
Hi Chessabelle. Welcome to UU :)

Nails may help. While you're waiting for them to grow, how about trying to develop a nice loose hand for strumming. Tense rigid fingers often get caught up, so you want a nice relaxed, almost floppy wrist, hand and fingers.

Uke isn't the loudest instrument there is, but don't let that lead you to strum hard to get more volume. Just a nice, easy brush across the strings is all you need until you get that fluid strumming thing down. Let your hand just dangle there on the end of your arm (where else?) and gently strum it up and down.

I'm sure you'll get it just fine in no time at all. :shaka:

the.ronin
08-10-2009, 09:54 AM