PDA

View Full Version : Changing strings without wire cutters?

sleepsinashoe
08-11-2009, 08:19 AM
Hey, I'm a beginner who just bought some Aquila nylguts (haven't arrived yet) for his Makala dolphin. This'll be the first time I'm changing strings that aren't violin, and I didn't realize I might need wire cutters. Is there any nifty way to get them cut without wire cutters? Like bending them back and forth a lot (I don't have a clue if that'd work on nylon), or plain scissors? Or do I even need to get them cut?

Thanks in advance

sukie
08-11-2009, 08:22 AM
Don't bend 'em back and forth. I use a wire cutter but that's because that's how I was taught to do it. A scissors should work though. Some people seem to like not cutting the strings. To me that looks sloppy. But what works for you is what's best for you. There's no right or wrong way. Just don't bend them back and forth. Oh! I guess that means there is a wrong way.

dnewton2
08-11-2009, 08:24 AM
plain ole scissors should work. I like nail clippers too.

itsme
08-11-2009, 08:40 AM
plain ole scissors should work. I like nail clippers too.
I would go with nail clippers over scissors. For one thing, strings are more like the consistency of toenails, so one "snip" should do it more efficiently. With scissors, you run the risk of slipping and having a pointy end gouge the finish on your uke. Also, many specialty scissors (like those for cutting fabric or hair) are easily ruined for their intended purpose by so much as cutting cardboard with them.

hoosierhiver
08-11-2009, 08:46 AM
Nail clippers are best in my opinion.

yookyoolayleeh
08-11-2009, 09:26 AM
I have to ask... Do you keep a separate set of nail clippers for your uke strings, or just reuse your toenaily gross one? Not that it bothers me or anything.

*shudder

WhenDogsSing
08-11-2009, 09:51 AM
Here's what I use...They've served me well...:D

toubisard
08-11-2009, 09:52 AM