No ukers in my area - What to do?

Melissa82

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
I'm getting really bummed because I can't connect with anyone in the area who plays uke. I've spoken with one person and meet ups are impossible cuz neither of us have vehicles and local transit is a joke. I'm at a stage where I feel I really need to be around someone who plays to get any further in my learning. Any suggestions?

Melissa before I found UU i thought I was the only uker in Georgia and back in 2003 when I moved back to Georgia I might have been the only uker other than DeG. I put the uke down and didn't pick it up until just before I got married when I got frustrated with the guitar once again. I started playing with guitar players. I know it is a different instrument but playing music is playing music.

Why not check out the live mini Jamz that they have been doing every night? It is almost like being there...
Edit: Or you could host one, then start a thread inviting people to help you learn a specific song or help you with a road block, etc...
I don't know about that... I don't really feel comfortable doing that kind of thing yet.

Melissa before I found UU i thought I was the only uker in Georgia and back in 2003 when I moved back to Georgia I might have been the only uker other than DeG. I put the uke down and didn't pick it up until just before I got married when I got frustrated with the guitar once again. I started playing with guitar players. I know it is a different instrument but playing music is playing music.
I have been thinking about getting a guitar. I was trying to decide between uke and guitar and in the end, I want to learn them both. My roommate has a guitar but won't let me use it. The fact we hate each other might have something to do with it, lol.

I don't know about that... I don't really feel comfortable doing that kind of thing yet.

Go hang out at the next one and watch... you don't need a camera to watch.