Class Project -- Uke Around the World

dave alexander

Reaction score
I'm a 4th grade teacher in Raleigh, North Carolina USA who would like to steal the Brotherhood of the Traveling Ukulele and make it a project for my students. I thought of using one of my ukes and shipping it to a ukulele player who would take pictures and play the uke, then send it on.

The students would track the location of the ukulele in the class by email. We'd make a full year project of it, so there's no hurry getting it back. I'd like to have it go clear "Round the World" but some problems are obvious:

1) Cost. I'd give anybody the $ to ship it on its next "leg" of the journey, but how much does it cost to send a uke from say, London to Istanbul? Beats me. It doesn't weigh much. Am I talking about hundreds of dollars?

2) Losing track of the thing. If I lose it, it would be a loss for the students. I would only care about the educational experience, not so much the actual uke.

3) Getting help from international ukulele players. I know we have lots of folks in the Pacific Islands, and the UK of course. Middle East? (I'm thinking of sending to a soldier in Iraq, then Afganistan.) What about Asia? Australia? South America? It would totally ROCK to send this to every continent except Antarctica. And if somebody has an idea about Antarctica, I'll listen.

Please let me know if this is a rotten idea. Honestly. It would be a whole lot easier to ship paper -- but a uke would be far better. Since the kids would play the ukulele before it ships out, it would be something they actually had a connection to.

Obviously my goal is increasing global awareness through ukulele playing.

Thanks for your advice:

Dave

It sounds like an awesome idea Dave!
I would be more than willing to represent Norway :)