Will my fingers ever...

Cecilg

Reaction score
start to feel normal again? I'm only into the uke 2 weeks and practicing 1-3 hours per day I have calluses pretty thick and my hands get a little stiff after a while. does this go away. I know I'm a little older to start something new like this but I'm enjoying it very much and learning a little along as well. Of course I'm still just on basic chords at this point ,which leads to another question. How long should I work on chords before trying to learn a bit of picking? I have no musical background therefore very green in this area.
Thank you for this forum and your help in this.

Cecil
Mainland Concert

Yes, you will feel normal again. Whatever normal is.:D

I started about a year and a half ago and pretty much went straight to picking. I will offer you this -- check out all the UU lessons and stuff. I'm not a computer literate-type person so I can't put up links, but poke around here and you'll find something to hold your interest. Lots of people will chime in with suggestions for you.

Welcome to UU. Have fun!:D

Don't know how old you are, but I am 63 and just started.....I have been playing guitar since I was 15 but I find the uke is so much easier on my fingers!!!

Start picking and good luck!!!

start to feel normal again? I'm only into the uke 2 weeks and practicing 1-3 hours per day I have calluses pretty thick and my hands get a little stiff after a while. does this go away. I know I'm a little older to start something new like this but I'm enjoying it very much and learning a little along as well. Of course I'm still just on basic chords at this point ,which leads to another question. How long should I work on chords before trying to learn a bit of picking? I have no musical background therefore very green in this area.
Thank you for this forum and your help in this.

Cecil
Mainland Concert