Review of Kiwaya KS-1

franulele

Reaction score
I purchased a Kiwaya KS-1 (soprano) about 6 months ago & had a bit of buyer's remorse at the time. I was so accustomed to playing the tenor uke, that a soprano was really awkward for me. But since buying a concert ukulele, my fingers have become more accustomed to the smaller size & now I really enjoy this little Kiwaya KS-1!

Anyway, here's my review http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjx1mn4-uD8

The only other Kiwaya review I've seen is Ken Midddleton's at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BN1DgGqgA_A

Last edited:
Nice review. I'm all about the Kiwayas these days.

Hi CAZ,

I really like my Kiwaya a lot. The laminate is so thin & the instrument is so resonant, that it really doesn't sound like most laminates I've heard. I wish they made a Concert in laminate too. I'm a travelling music teacher in Vermont, so a laminate uke can be a very good thing. (Of course, I'd settle for one of the KTC concerts!)

Hi Franulele,

Have you looked at the "Famous" brand. It's the Japanese branded laminates from Kiwaya. I was looking for their "Luna" brand a while ago because they had more variations such as radius necks and koa wood! I bet you might be able to find a Famous in concert size.

Unfortunately I couldn't find a US dealer for Luna or Famous. I contacted Kiwaya from their US website and they told me they could ship a special order of a Luna to me. Unfortunately the one I wanted was completely out of stock. It was a limited edition.

I think the one you reviewed is an overseas version of the Famous FS-1, which is the basic laminate model from Kiwaya in Japan. Here, the traditional generation has a saying that "first, you get a Famous (preferably FS-5 laminate koa), then you go on".

The Luna brand are all solid if I am not mistaken, and a little bit more expensive. Never tried them, but they are supposed to be very nice sounding ukes.