Looking for my first Uke

Tagaen

Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first post and i'm new to the Uke scene.

I've always loved music, I used to play Piano and Cello and Guitar (all at once!) But unfortunately due to exams and stress those days have gone. I want to re-gain some of that back though, and the Uke seems perfect, but I have no idea where to start. What would I be better getting? A soprano, Tenor or Baritone Uke? What strings should I look for, what are the best starter kits to get, and where can I go for lessons? See i'm not very good at teaching myself, but i'm going to give this ago. I'm starting uni in september and I want to take an instrument with me, and a Uke just seems perfect. Very small, easy to carry, and seemingly easy enough to play. I just need some good sound advice. Also, what sort of price range should I be looking at for my beginners Uke? It's my birthday next week and planning on spending some money on one, but I don't want to spend too much and jump in at the deep end.

Any help and advice would be really appreciated. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong bit, I figured it would be the best place to put it though. Thanks!

Here is a link to a sticky that will answer most of your questions about entry level uke... Read on and you will be glad you did

http://ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11346

Best thing to do is if you have a local music store that carries any uke, swing by and try a few and / or listen to some YT vids using differnet sizes and see what your ears like. then go from there.. also what is your budget?

Thanks, I'll take a look at that link now.