What kind of guitar should I get?

nirama

Reaction score
A little background on me:
- I have been playing the guitar for about eight years. Until a few months ago, I have just been covering artists' music by either using tabs, watching youtube videos, or figuring them out myself. Now I am trying to learn actual music theory so that I can write my own songs, solo, and to become a true musician.

- I want to learn acoustic R&B music, and I guess pop.

- I'd like to have a style like Gabe Bondoc's, but I definitely want to "find my own sound".

- I'd like to spend just around $300, but I am willing to pay up to $600.

- I want to buy an acoustic or acoustic/electric guitar

What guitar models and brands would you recommend for me? I'm pretty good at playing the songs that I have learned to cover, I would consider myself a decent guitar player, but not a true guitarist - YET. I really want to get better and actually write songs. I'd like to be performing at least covers within the next year in front of people.

Gabe's guitar sounds nice, can you guys recommend me any guitars like his?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxqQimGB3Bo

Thanks!

You're not going to get one like Gabe's for even twice your budget. Sure, Martin Guitars makes a few as low as $600 but I wouldn't really want to own one.

Seagull makes some great sounding guitars at very reasonable prices. Sure, they're not Rosewood or any other fancy stuff, but you can buy a solid Cedar top with Cherry sides and back for about $400 or so.

Thanks. What could I look for in a used guitar?

Seagulls are good guitars. There are also a lot of "Masterbilt" Epiphone guitars available these days. The Masterbilt DR500me is a really great sounding guitar. Yamaha's L6 is in your price range and a fantastic guitar. Their FG series includes a few great guitars well within your price range.