PDA

View Full Version : Please Help!: Kamaka vs. Kanile'a?

chrisg14mac
08-21-2009, 02:02 AM
Please help! I am new to playing the uke, but wanted to invest in a high end tenor that I can enjoy playing (and keep in my family). I have been leaning toward a Kamaka - but many people recently have recommended Kanile'a.

Does anyone out there know of the differences? I can't find any side-by-side comparisons - and there are no dealers close to where I live.

Any advice would be appreciated!

HaileISela
08-21-2009, 02:12 AM
I would suggest you to search on the forum, since there are already lots of threads on this topic.

I think (without ever playing one) both instruments are top notch.

maybe you can find some information on this page (http://gx9901ukes.blogspot.com/2009/02/got-kamaka.html) too...

Kanaka916
08-21-2009, 04:53 AM
Mandolin Bros (http://mandolinbros.com/Search.aspx?CategoryID=21) carries Kamaka. You can also check the Ukulele Stores (http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16519) listing. I can understand your dilemma. Choosing between the two really comes down to personal preference. In all honesty, I think any one of the four K's would be a great choice. Personally for a new off the wall instument, my #1 choice would probably be a KoAloha, then Kanile'a and Kamaka. If it's an older model Kamaka, that would be my #1.

The link to Ukulele Ghetto is a good one and George, who has several custom instruments gives an honest, straight up review. Have you considered ordering on-line once your choice is made?

lkdumas
08-21-2009, 05:04 AM