Best strings for bending?

ukulelearp

Reaction score
I have little experience as far as strings go. The only strings I've used are Fremont Blacks and D'addario J71's. They both sound great, but I find it hard to bend with either of them. This could be an issue with finger strength, but I can bend fine with both my soprano and my guitar. Are there any strings more suitable for bending, or do I need to man up and bend harder?

I've used three different sets on my Pono Koa Tenor (which, despite the pono-hate, I love :p ) and these are my thoughts:
1. Koolau Golds- they seemed pretty easy to bend, but didn't have a lot of sustain. This may have been my playing, though, and not an indication of how well the strings would do.
2. Aquila Nylgut- I thought these were terrible for bending. Once the string bent, it seemed to me the sustain died very quickly, and they just seemed really hard to bend, especially near the nut.
3. Worth Browns- these bend really easily for me, and still seem to hold the note longer than either the aquila or koolau strings. The only problem I have with them is the a-string seems really quiet. That is probably me.

You can buy worths in different tensions too, you might find lower tension strings easier for bending.

I tried aquilla before and switched to worth (brown and clear lights) and bending is much better with good sustain so far. I find the aquilla harder to bend and doesn't sustain as well as worh -- at least with that's with my limited playing skills.