University presentation about ukulele.

sputnik1nz

Reaction score
Waaaaaaay down south in a small City called Dunedi
HI UUer's, im currently in my final year of my primary teaching degree in NZ and i take a paper called issues in music. I have a seminar that i have to present to the class and i have decided to do mine on the Ukulele. I can basically do anything, but i have to talk about things like its potential for children's arts learning, technology innovations, cultural and life long educational implications, and relevance to the community.

I was wondering if any UUer's have any ideas that would help me in blowing the minds of the people i present this too. id like to add a practicle aspect to the seminar also.

im not expecting anyone to do this for me, just ideas would be great.

thanx

-Chris

Just hang out here long enough and you'll learn things. Show them a vid of Aldines or Jakes, that'll blow their minds. We have a couple of teachers who teach uke to kids, it's so much better than the requisite recorder. My four kids have joined me in music since I started playing uke. It is the perfect instrument to bring people of different musical abilities together.

Talk about Roy Sakuma's ukulele studio. Majority of the students are younger than 15. There's a huge festival they hold every year, which many people go to.

It takes care of "potential for children's arts learning" and "relevance to the community" :D

And I went to Roy's myself, so I might be able to help out a bit

You might want to mention the outreach that KoAloha does every year - Kaneohe til the end works for them and posted some great pictures of the build that KoAloha did with kids on Molokai (I think!)... KoAlohaPaul is also a member here...

You should look up J. Chalmers Doane and his work in Canada. He introduced ukulele into the education system in Canada.

You should look up J. Chalmers Doane and his work in Canada. He introduced ukulele into the education system in Canada.