newbie here! need advice re: learning ukulele AND a love song

cleokizzy

Reaction score
hi everyone!

i recently heard this "You and I" song by Ingrid Michaelson and i knew that she used a ukulele because my grandpa used to play his' when i was growing up. i remember he tried teaching me this before but that has long been forgotten.

so i'm getting married in a year and i have this idea of playing this song for hubby during the reception as a surprise gift! i've been playing that song over and over and it seems that the same chords are being played repeatedly.

i know how to play the piano so i have music background but do you think this is feasible? me learning to play the ukulele and learning to play you and i? or am i setting myself up for failure?

any advice/thoughts on this?

Welcome to UU!!

I don't think you're setting yourself up for failure at all. Learning the uke is fairly easy...especially if you have any kind of musical background. And...you said you have a year to learn it. I think you could probably swing it in less than 2 months (based on the progress I've seen of other beginners here on the forum).

Thanks for turning me on to a cool new song. I found the chords for it here...and it looks pretty easy. I think I'll have to try it myself.

So, now all you need is an ukulele. We are always more than happy to spend other people's money, and we are not lacking in opinions or personal preferences here.

Yeah, those chords do seem pretty accurate and not really that difficult. It's something that I'm sure you could learn pretty quickly if you put your mind to it and practiced practiced practiced. My lovely wife's only been playing since February and I don't think she'd have too much trouble playing it at all.

It's a sweet song. I'm totally going to have to play it a few times myself now.