playing jewish songs on ukulele

pamelamama

Reaction score
I know this is kind of a long shot, but I am a kindergarten teacher at a Jewish school and i'm learning a lot of songs for kids and for group singing on my uke.

I think I may be the only person in the Jewish Ukulele Music for Children subgenre, but what the heck. I figure if there is someone in the universe besides me doing this, it's possible they'd wind up here.

Otherwise, just me. :cool:

Mazel Tov, Pamela! You're a real mensch!

I think all the folk songs that are a part of the Jewish culture would do wonderfully on ukulele. And a lot of klezmer music, as well.

I learned hatikvah at one point, do you have any songs in particular you'd like to learn?

Great idea!

Uke music is always kinda happy. And Jewish music is always kinda sad. So I think bringing the two together sounds like a great idea. But, no, I don't know anyone doing this. But most of the classic Jewish folk songs already have guitar tabs so moving them to uke should be quite simply.

If you do a search for 'Playing ukuleles for peace' you'll see an ebook for sale that has good tabs for hava nagilla. (And it's a nice fund raiser for a group doing co-existence work in Israel.)

http://howtoplayukulele.com/how-to-play-ukuleles-for-peace/

Good luck with this project, and if you do make any original tabs in this genre for Jewish uke music, please post here as I would enjoy learning a few songs. (And how about some liturgy peices? L'ch Dodi or Adon O'lam?)

the dreidel song is just g7 and d7

tseem shalom, I dont know how to really spell tseem. thats one of my favorites.

I found a collection in some well hidden nook of my computer with about 25 different jewish songs, I sent you a tell about it

I found a collection in some well hidden nook of my computer with about 25 different jewish songs, I sent you a tell about it