Ebay gamesmanship

csr5z

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of Ebay, but this seems like dirty pool to me.

I'm bidding on a uke, and for the past few days I've been the high bidder. I initially bid (I'll use made-up numbers for simplicity's sake), $25 and entered a maximum bid of $100.

Competitor X has been engaging in strange behavior.

1. First he bids $37.50 Because I have my automatic maximum bid is much higher, the system autmatically puts me at $40.00, so I'm still the high bidder.

2. Next Competitor X bids $500.00. So he's way out in front. But then he withdraws that bid, claiming he mistyped. So I'm back on top with $40.

3. A day later Competitor x bids $350. Again he's out in front. Again he withdraws that bid, claiming he mistyped.

4. Next he bids 102.50. Again he's out in front. Again he withdraws that bid.

5. Next he bids $100. This is the same as my "maximum bid," but since I entered my bid first, I'm ahead. Now he knows my maximum bid.

This behavior is mystifying to me. If he wants the uke, he could have kept his bid at 102.50 and been in the lead. Is it possible he was just trying to figure out my maximum, to force me to pay it? Because of his weird bidding, now, if I win, I will end up paying $100 for a uke that I could have gotten for $40. Perhaps the guy who is selling it is trying to nudge up the price without running the risk of winning the auction for his own instrument?

Like I said, I am new to ebay, so maybe this is normal. But it seem odd. Any thoughts?

honestly one of the only ways to deal with dishonest bidding is with a bit of underhandedness in turn. Keep the item you want in mind, but never bid until the last 30 seconds or so of an auction. This gives people little or no time to overbid you. It essentially guarantees that everyone's high bid is the maximum they will pay, because there can be no counter-bidding or competition.