Problem playing chords

dnewton2

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the ukulele, and have been checking out lessons here at UU and some of lessons on iamHawaii. Some of the chords that require something like your pointer finger to cover A E string, middle finger to cover C and ring finger to cover G, are giving me problems. Mainly my pointer finger does not bend back far enough to allow my other fingers to properly cover the other stings. Usually resulting in a messed up sounding chord.

So has anyone else ran into issues like this, or have any suggestions on ways to fix this problem.

i use my pointer finger to bar the whole fret in those cases. it's more comfortable to me than trying to bend it back like you mentioned.

like dis:

A -x-|---|---|---|---|
E -x-|---|---|---|---|
C -x-|-x-|---|---|---|
G -x-|---|-x-|---|---|

but i guess it all depends on the player. whatever works for you. good luck!

Last edited:
i use my pointer finger to bar the whole fret in those cases. it's more comfortable to me than trying to bend it back like you mentioned.

Good advice.

Beyond that, I'd just say keep at it. You'll find a way to do it. I'm of the opinion that there's no right way and no wrong way to play. However you can get the job done is right for you.

like dis:

A -x-|---|---|---|---|
E -x-|---|---|---|---|
C -x-|-x-|---|---|---|
G -x-|---|-x-|---|---|

but i guess it all depends on the player. whatever works for you. good luck!

Thanks, I have tried that and it seems a little tougher, for me anyway, to switch to and from other chords. But i guess practice will fix that.

I'm fairly new as well and I used to get frustated playing the Bb and B chords, but the more I practiced the easier I was able to do it. It just takes time. Like Seeso said, keep at it and it will come naturally in time.