PDA

View Full Version : Improvisation??

GreyPoupon
09-01-2009, 04:20 AM
I have been playing uke for about 6 months now. And I am happy to report that I can play a fair number of finger style songs with various degress of competence. The easier ones I can play well... and some of the harder ones are still pretty sketchy, but considering how long I've been playing I am pretty happy with the resutlts. One day at a time, livin' in the moment, it's not a competition, and so on...

Here's my question: Basically learning a finger style song is about playing the peice a million times over - focusing on the hard parts and playing those 2 million times really really slow.. and with enough time and patience you can even nail a really hard song. And I do it. But I am a bit like a monkey right now. I memorize a peice to death, and play it.

How do I go about learning how to improvise? How can I just pick up the uke without a peice of music I have memorized and make it sound good? How do I take the skills I have learned and actually make something creative and original come out of the uke as opposed to simply spitting out someone else's TABS?

???

Brad Bordessa
09-01-2009, 04:56 AM
Do you know your scales? That's probably the best place to start learning, just noodle around a scale.

The idea with soloing/improv is to create a melody on the spot. Try starting and stopping your phrases (melody lines) with one of the chord notes. If you are playing over C (use the C scale), you would emphasize C E G. When you change to G7 (still using the C scale because all of G7's notes are part of the C scale), you would emphasize G D F B.

Things I would advise you not to do:

Think that playing parts or all of the scale makes a solo.
Playing even eighths without stopping for a little breathing room. Space is a must - think where a singer would have to take a breath - that's where you want to stop for a bit.