PDA

View Full Version : Wife cringes when I play

deach
04-15-2008, 02:02 PM
I started playing the ukulele a few weeks ago so I kinda understood when she had the scowl on her face whenever I played. I really didn't think I was that bad so I asked what her deal was. She said the ukulele reminded her of her younger years when her parents would listen to Tiny Tim and his ukulele. How do I get her to overcome this? Should I just get a new wife?

Plainsong
04-15-2008, 02:06 PM
Learn songs she likes and play them in an un-George Formby way. Mom grew up on Oahu so she made of fun of my getting a uke as well. Then I played House of the Rising Sun and Paint it Black and that stopped me getting made fun of.

JumpingPulgas
04-15-2008, 02:20 PM
I used to get funny looks from my wife too when I first started learning how to play the uke, but as I got better, she started liking it. And like PlainSong said, it helps to play songs that she really likes. I still get funny looks from my wife, but it's for other stuff :D

seeso
04-15-2008, 02:22 PM
Time for a new wife!! ;)

Seriously, though... I suggest you learn one of her favorite songs and surprise her with your rendition.

Ukulele_Junkie
04-15-2008, 02:24 PM
hahaha dude thanks for sharing the name of that musician, man thats really weird when i searched i thought at first he was jus joking around, then as i went through all the other vids man.....:eek: http://youtube.com/watch?v=IYnjASLYKdA

what kind of songs are u playing as of now?

Lanark
04-15-2008, 02:33 PM
Perseverance.

If you keep playing long and hard enough she'll eventually stop associating unpleasant ukulele playing with Tiny Tim and start associating it solely with you. So I'd suggest keep her and keep practicing.

Vroom
04-15-2008, 02:34 PM
Should I just get a new wife?

HAHAHA

clearly that would solve it. but you might get lonely. She'll get used to it.

deach
04-15-2008, 02:47 PM

what kind of songs are u playing as of now?