Wife cringes when I play

deach

Reaction score
I started playing the ukulele a few weeks ago so I kinda understood when she had the scowl on her face whenever I played. I really didn't think I was that bad so I asked what her deal was. She said the ukulele reminded her of her younger years when her parents would listen to Tiny Tim and his ukulele. How do I get her to overcome this? Should I just get a new wife?

Learn songs she likes and play them in an un-George Formby way. Mom grew up on Oahu so she made of fun of my getting a uke as well. Then I played House of the Rising Sun and Paint it Black and that stopped me getting made fun of.

I used to get funny looks from my wife too when I first started learning how to play the uke, but as I got better, she started liking it. And like PlainSong said, it helps to play songs that she really likes. I still get funny looks from my wife, but it's for other stuff :D

Time for a new wife!! ;)

Seriously, though... I suggest you learn one of her favorite songs and surprise her with your rendition.

hahaha dude thanks for sharing the name of that musician, man thats really weird when i searched i thought at first he was jus joking around, then as i went through all the other vids man.....:eek: http://youtube.com/watch?v=IYnjASLYKdA

what kind of songs are u playing as of now?

Perseverance.

If you keep playing long and hard enough she'll eventually stop associating unpleasant ukulele playing with Tiny Tim and start associating it solely with you. So I'd suggest keep her and keep practicing.

Haha. Are you sure your wife isn't just jealous that you spend more time or maybe even treat your ukulele better than her? My wife used to be that way until I bought her a uke of her own. Now she's hook'd ;)

Learn the song 'Pearly Shells' or something along those lines....

....depending on what sort of person she is, she'll think it's incredibly sweet, or she'll want to kill you.