Banjolele of Choice

Susie A

Reaction score
I am really wanting a Banjolele and being a complete Uke rookie I need input.

Who plays one? What brand (?) would you recommend? Any that you would stay away from? Why?

It takes me forever to make a decision, I always have to research first.

So, any info is appreciated!

Susie A

I'd keep an eye on ebay, there have been some sweet vintage ones that have gone for super cheap.

I'd get an old beat up one with a lot of mojo and mystery behind it....but that's just me. how much do you want to spend?

I am a fan of old and beat up :) I have been eyeballing the ones on ebay and EI. I just don't want to end up with something that is not playable out of the box. I am not even remotely lutherly. :p

I don't have a price in mind.

Susie

I am a fan of old and beat up :) I have been eyeballing the ones on ebay and EI. I just don't want to end up with something that is not playable out of the box. I am not even remotely lutherly. :p

I don't have a price in mind.

Susie

The Dixies I've come across are generally pretty good.

The Dixies I've come across are generally pretty good.

Are you referring to the all metal ones? I don't know how I feel about those. Part of the joy of playing (for me) a stringed instrument is the warmness (is that a word) of the wood.

Susie A

Are you referring to the all metal ones? I don't know how I feel about those. Part of the joy of playing (for me) a stringed instrument is the warmness (is that a word) of the wood.

Susie A

Throw it in the oven for a few minutes.

I saw a banjolele pretty much just like mine but I think slightly newer on ebay the other day for $50 with only an hour or so left on the auction. I see them for around $100 all the time. I'm pretty sure mine is a Harmony brand BU. The only marking on it is on the back of the headstock and it says "standard approved". Mine plays great. I love it.