uke to guitar

RAZZLE

Reaction score
OK,bare with me here.I'll put it in point form for easier reading.
Played uke for 1 yr
want to play guitar
found uke strum pattern easy to pick up eg.dduud
Don't want to be the next hendrix,just strum some easy songs.
Found the mini maton eml/6 size good.
I don't want to fork out the $ if i can't get the hang of it
I HAVE NO PATIENCE,if i can learn some songs quickly i'll be fine.
My questions are,
Am i biting off more than i can chew?
Does anyone have the same misgivings as me?
Any input/tips would be greatly appreciated.
i hope the point form doesn't come across too blunt but i thought that was the easiest way to get my message across
regards,
Razzle

Hi Razzle- sounds like you enjoy playing the Uke. I learned when I was 5 on the Uke and starting playing the guitar at 14 (self taught). The question you have to ask yourself is "Do you have a passion to learn how to play the guitar?" If you have been playing the Uke for awhile the transition over to the guitar would not be that difficult to learn the basics of strumming and chords. If you learn the basic major chords of CGFA on the guitar you can play pretty much any song. I am not going to kid you but it will take patience, sore hands and lots of practice. I know you can do it! Good luck and if you have any questions feel free to ask. Aloha!

I have played both ukulele and guitar for over forty years. I still enjoy both since there are some songs that sound better on one instrument or the other. The thing that is funny is that some people want others to play a uke "like a uke" and the guitar does not get that same limitation. What is interesting is that there are a lot of ukulele players that play both instruments in similar fashion. What you gain with guitar is more ability to "walk the neck" playing between chords, more range, more low-end (for obvious reason), more volume, due to size, and a huge assortment of instruments in a reasonable price-range.