Body Language and Uke Playing

Citrus

Reaction score
So I've been trying to add a little more zing to my performances and I noticed for the most part I just sit and play, usually with my eyes on the fretboard because I'm new to performing in front of crowds and I'm so nervous I have to look where my fingers are going. But I noticed that a lot of uke players (or any musicians) have a lot of body movement during their shows.
I was wondering what kind of stuff you do, what kind of stuff you guys like, and what you don't like and how I should I guess "practice" it. I'm trying to incorporate some slight leaning forward or backward and letting the crowd see my face from time to time. I do like seeing people use body language but some of the stuff like the jake shimabukuro head bang is a little much for me and I feel that overdoing it can really detract from a performance. Any thoughts?

I was wondering what kind of stuff you do, what kind of stuff you guys like, and what you don't like and how I should I guess "practice" it.

What I like is Authenticity. And the thing is: it is not something that can or needs to be practiced.

Let your body move in ways it feels moved to do, by what you're playing or singing. Whether a little or allot, it will look good to the audience, if it looks like you're feeling it and mean it.

i try and mix the robot into my ukulele playing.

hehe, attempting to try that right now.

kmetzger,
I agree with what you're saying but I'm not sure I can do that right off the bat, naturally I just curl up into a little uke playing ball and don't move much. I think it might be like dancing, doing what you feel goes with the music is great but having some "moves" to go off of doesnt hurt, and you don't wanna bust into the macarena when you're playing some bruddah iz, also I just listened to your music and its great!

hehe, attempting to try that right now.

kmetzger,