Uke Advice: KoAloha KCM-00 or Kamaka HF-2?

MDUke16

Reaction score
I'm looking for some advice on purchasing my second uke. I've been playing for about 3 months and I've outgrown my cheap starter uke.

Which would be the better purchase with my limited and precious money, KoAloha KCM-00 or Kamaka HF-2?

I appreciate any advice, especially in the form of personal experience.

Thanks!

I know I'm totally going to be in the minority on this one (it seems like KoAloha is the most popular manufacturer at UU - at least according to my unscientific observations), but I would get the Kamaka.

I have a Kamaka, and it sounds beautiful, looks gorgeous, and has the tradition and history of being one of the original Hawaiian ukulele manufacturers. The KoAlohas are flashier in style, and seem to sound louder, plus they have really great customer service from everything that I have seen. So you can't really go wrong with either, but my vote is for the Kamaka.

I don't think you could go wrong with either. KoAloha has the modern style and design, Kamaka the old-school vibe and history. Both are QUALITY. See if you can find sound samples on YouTube or, if you're really lucky, find a place that will let you get your hands on instruments to try them out. I think all you'll get here is subjective opinion, because objectively they are both high quality, high value instruments.

First of all, welcome to the forums!

I've got a KoAloha Superconcert (concert body and tenor neck) from 2007 and a well played Kamaka Concert from 1997 (so very well played that finish on the first few frets of the fretboard have worn off...we're past the fretboard grime stage) My KoAloha is strung with Worth Browns, and my Kamaka is strung with Worth Clears. So already, I cannot make a direct comparison between the two, because of the models, the ages, and the strings.