Proper Strumming

JumpingPulgas

Reaction score
I started learning how to play the uke since October, and I use my index finger to strum. Recently, I started noticing pain near the knuckle of my index finger. Is this normal or am I not strumming properly?

Attachments

• barbar1.jpg
    barbar1.jpg
    34.6 KB · Views: 1
  • barbar2.jpg
    barbar2.jpg
    42.7 KB · Views: 1
  • barbar3.JPG
    barbar3.JPG
    84.3 KB · Views: 1
Jake did a great strumming tutorial for us on iamhawaii.com. It should still be up. He talks about how he strums using both his pointer finger nail and thumb nail to get the cleanest sound.

He turns his wrist like he's pointing to himself then holds his thumb and pointer finger like he's holding a guitar pick.

Attachments

• Fluke.jpg
    Fluke.jpg
    95.3 KB · Views: 3
oh ya! that was a really great video tutorial.

a lot of people that i see kinda hold their finger like a pencil sometimes, it hurts me personally.

but loose and relaxed, shouldnt hurt at all

Attachments

• PICT0097.jpg
    PICT0097.jpg
    94.5 KB · Views: 5
  • PICT0099.jpg
    PICT0099.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 7
  • PICT0098.jpg
    PICT0098.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 5
  • PICT0101.jpg
    PICT0101.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 4
  • PICT0102.jpg
    PICT0102.jpg
    88.3 KB · Views: 10
i had this problem at first as well. your finger may be too loose. and you may be striking your strings too hard. its should be more rigid, but not to the point that youre beating on your strings when you strum. recently my brother pointed out to me that i was beating on my strings too much trying to get more volume out of the uke. but there is only so far you can strum volume out of it. when i eased off trying to power out my music, i noticed a HUGE difference in how clean everything sounded... and my fingers stopped hurting.