Is it possible to play blues ukulele?

drtortoise

Reaction score
Someone asked me if it is possible to play blues on the ukulele, because the ukulele always sounds so "happy". I want to say yes, but I'm just starting out. Maybe some of you could reccomed some good blues ukulele songs (on youtube perhaps) that I could show him?

Thanks

Depends what you mean by "blues". To some it is just a simple set of chords - to others it is more akin to a religion.

Ukantor.

And for many many others it's the music you play when you hit middle age and have to abandon your rock and roll dreams.

One of the greatest misconceptions about Blues as a genre by folks unfamiliar with it is that it is "sad music". "Blues" is kind of a catch-all label that encompasses a huge variety of sounds and styles that cover the whole range of human emotion and lyrical content (see also "Jazz" and "Rock and Roll") It traditionally has a few conventions as far as to chord structures (ala Country and Western) but it's not bound by them. It's music.

The other great misconception is that it's music made by older players. Most of that stems from the great Blues and Folk revival of the early 60's when the next generation tracked down some of the original recording artists like Skip James & Mississippi John Hurt and brought them out of retirement to tour colleges and such. While their prime recordings were all done as young men, but most people weren't aware of them until they were in their retirement years a few decades later. The biggest recording heyday for Blues really was in the 1920's & 30's.

I personally like my Blues Pre-War with a few bits here and there up into the early 60's.

and I apologize for the editorial rant. It's just one of those things that get my Music Obsessed Archival blood worked up.( just don't start in about NYC being the place where Punk Rock originated from and nobody gets hurt)