Fretboard needs help!

kjmphoto

Reaction score
This is a bit off-topic in terms of instruments, but I thought this would be the best place to post this, and it is applicable to ukes.

I am new to the uke world, but have been playing acoustic guitar for years. One of my acoustic guitars--Seagull S6 cedar top--has never had any maintenance done on the fretboard. The guitar still plays great, but the fretboard looks awful...and I mean awful! We are talking years of grime built-up on the neck.

I'm embarrassed to post this picture, because it makes me look terrible, but my baby is in dire need of a cleaning. So how do I start? Seagull recommends lemon or danish oil. I obviously need to get all this grime off first, though.

Can I save my baby's neck?!

P1010101.jpg

Last edited:
its easy to clean it each time you clean strings...you dont need to oil it (or whatever is recommended) each time, but you should get in the habit of cleaning it every so often when you change the strings.

that fretboard is disgusting lol...good for you. at least you are playing it

Thanks...

buddhuu,

thanks for the link. looks like a useful site.

cornfed,

pretty nasty, i know. gotta love it!

Gibson sells a fantastic fretboard conditioner that I've used for years, and have had fantastic results. However, I'm sure any brand will do. Just dab a few drops down the fretboard, and use a toothbrush or q-tip to wipe away the grime. The conditioner will also keep the fretboard from drying out and cracking.

Gcow

So fretboard cleaner should be able to clean off the grime that I'm seeing on my fretboard without too much scrubbing?

That looks downright unsanitary! At least the instrument has been played and loved a lot.