Song writing Process

rayan

Ukulele Underground Staff
UU+
Reaction score
Just wanted to share my song writing process and maybe get input from others who write songs. I'm not an expert songwriter like Danyo Cummings but I've developed a method that works for me.

First off, I never sit down and try to write a song. Usually if I ever can finish a song, I'm just goofing around on the guitar and a melody pops into my head that fits whatever chord pattern I'm playing.

If I think it's catchy or memorable, I think hard to make sure I'ts not the melody line of some other famous song (usually it is). If it is, I try to tweak it enough where its different, but still has that same "catchyness" factor.

Usually when the melody comes into my head, it comes in the form of a first line. Usually the first line of the first verse, but sometimes it's the chorus. The 2 strongest parts in your song has to be that first line, and the hook in the chorus. It's a little harder for me cause I'm not that great of a singer, so I need to write simple but memorable melody lines that I can handle with my limited range.

Sometimes when the chords and melody come, they're in the wrong key for me so I spend the time to find the key thats comfortable for me to sing in.

With the chords for whats presumably the verse and the first line of the song, I then try to fill out the rest of the song. With the melody line in my head, I write out lines that I think will fit with the song. After each line I try singing it and tweak it to make them fit.