Best Value Tenor ukes help needed

jonnyfriendly

Reaction score
Need some advice on tenor ukes - best models/makes etc. looking for something around $400. Ive been recommended Pono with spruce? top and laminated Kiwaya.
Please share your thoughts

thanks

j

Welcome, Jonny. :)

You'll hear many different suggestions, no doubt!

If I were currently shopping for a tenor, the first one I'd be looking at would be the Kala solid acacia tenor.

Here's thejumpingflea's review.

thanks Bud - ive read a lot about this uke
do you know how this would compare sound wise to a mahogony tenor such as say the pono with spruce top. As a guitarist i like the mellow sound mahogony gives

the acacia prolly will be louder and brighter than mahogany, it'll soud more like a koa uke with that "barking" sound, if u haven't checked out the jumping fleas revriew on utube, check it sold me

the acacia prolly will be louder and brighter than mahogany, it'll soud more like a koa uke with that "barking" sound, if u haven't checked out the jumping fleas revriew on utube, check it sold me

An uke with a bark...I like that description! :)

thanks for the bark comment
does anyone have experience of the pono mahogany tenor with spruce top ?

If you haven't seen them, there are reviews of the Pono PTS and PTS-E on pages 3 and 4 here in the reviews section. RonVa and GCOW 55 do a great job reviewing theirs. Ron's with low G and GCOW55's with high G.

i hear that pono are about to introduce a new line in November - has any one any information on these ?

Best tenor uke? for $400? Go for a mainland tenor. Personally, I've only had experience with a soprano, but it's awesomely loud *as loud as a KoAloha... two month old strings :D* Consider that a soprano is THAT loud, and you've got quite the canon in a tenor I would believe. RevWill has one. Kicker; it's only 300; for the money, it's a great ukulele.