1st Post!

existence

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my inaugural post to UU, though I've been lurking for several weeks now. I like the vibe of the forums around here, and look forward to joining in on the fun.

My ukulele story: I've been playing guitar for 14 years, and one day while goofing off in the acoustic guitar room at my local guitar megastore (YOU know which one I mean...) I spotted a $30 Hilo soprano uke hanging on the wall. "Huh," I thought, and took it down. Did I know how to tune it? Nope! Just strummed a few out-of-tune "chords" and thought, for 30 bucks, why not? Took it home, tuned it (as well as one can tune a toy uke) and fell in love. Of course, the little Hilo had sky high action, terrible intonation, and very little tone, but it was enough to wet my appetite.

Fast forward a couple of years. I STILL hadn't purchased a proper uke. That's when I found this place, did a little research, and mere days ago I received my new concert Flea in the mail! And let me tell you, you guys didn't steer me wrong...those fleas are a joy! Now I am a victim of the dreaded "UAS", evidenced by the fact that mere hours after opening my Flea, I was browsing online for my next buy.

I'm thinking Hamano H-100. Want a soprano now!

Anyways, just wanted to introduce myself. Hope everyone's well...

--Steve

Welcome to UU. Now I must ask...Why a hamano?

Welcome to UU! UAS is an evil and dangerous thing! While you're shopping, consider trying the different scale lengths; soprano, concert & tenor, for example. Some folks find that one "fits" them better than others.

Mailman is correct... Shop around if you can.

Oh! and Welcome to UU!

"Welcome to UU. Now I must ask...Why a hamano?"