Upgrade my Tenor Uke

brUKEman

Reaction score
I've been playing uke for 4 months. I have an Ohana TK35G which I like. Unfortunately I didn't know about this forum and bought it from someone who just sent it stock and although it plays well, I think the action is a little high. I am looking into getting it lowered a little but got to thinking maybe I should just upgrade. What would be the price range I would have to go to where I would notice a difference in the playability (especially up the neck). I like the sound of the Mahogony in my Ohana, but then again, its the only one I've played.
Will I notice a difference if I get a pricier Ohana, maybe one with Cedar or Spruce or will it play the same as my Mahogony only with a little different sound.
I don't want to purchase something similiar to what I have. I definitly want to kick it up to the next level. From what I read him my Ohana is one of the best for under $300. What is the price range of the next level ($500, $600, $700 )?
I am very confused right now but have an adequate uke so I want to make sure I make the right decision.

Thank all of you for your support and help to us Newbies...

IMO your Ohana is a good enough uke to justify getting the action set properly.

As long as it has no issues that bother you other than the action, a good Ohana is very (and I mean very) similar to a Mainland. You've already said that you like the mahogany sound (and I agree - mahogany sounds great). In ukes of otherwise identical design, the selection of wood for the top will affect the sound but shouldn't have much impact on feel or playability.

Before rushing out to spend a load of money I'd try to play a few different ukes from friends or from stores, maybe ones with the different top woods you mention, and maybe koa, and then judge if they have very much more to offer than what you have.