PDA

View Full Version : Hello and beginner question!

csullivan
09-25-2009, 04:03 AM
Hello my name is Cory and I am new to ukulele playing. I lived in Mililani HI for two years and first picked up the uke then. I stopped playing for a number of years when I left Hawaii because there was no one around me playing. I just started playing again when I saw Seeso playing on youtube. So thank you to Seeso. Love your videos man. My beginner question is how do I know what type of ukulele I have? Tenor, concert, it does not say anywere? Is there an easy way to tell? Also does anyone know of anyone who teaches in New Hampshire?

KC8AFW
09-25-2009, 04:29 AM
Welcome to UU, Cory!

The best way to tell what size you have is to measure from the nut to the saddle. A soprano will be about 13.5" or 14", concert is about 15", and tenor is about 17".

csullivan
09-25-2009, 04:38 AM
So I saw that UU sells strings but they only have Concert and Tenor Strings can I purchase ones for a soprano because I think that is what I have.

KC8AFW
09-25-2009, 07:14 AM
So I saw that UU sells strings but they only have Concert and Tenor Strings can I purchase ones for a soprano because I think that is what I have.

The concert set will also fit a soprano (they'll just be a little long...you'll cut that off anyway). Also, different strings make different ukes sound better. My favorite for laminate ukes are the aquilas (http://cgi.ebay.com/AQUILA-SOPRANO-Nylgut-ukulele-strings_W0QQitemZ330362310934QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH _DefaultDomain_0?hash=item4ceb20d116&_trksid=p4634.c0.m14.l1262). I like the Worth CM on my solid wood ukes. Point is...try different ones and see which sounds best to you. I like to get my strings from MGM (http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Musicguymics-Room__W0QQ_armrsZ1), because he has the best deal on shipping.

ukulele2544
09-25-2009, 07:26 PM
How many frets do you have on you ukulele?

seeso
09-26-2009, 07:54 AM