Better at Guitar?

vahn

Reaction score
So I started playing music about a year and 3 months ago after a solid year of mastering Guitar Hero. Guitar completely replaced the game as my daily 4 hour past time and about 6 months later I discovered the uke - it seemed to be the perfect fit as it was guitar like but guitar hero controller sized.. Of course as is natural Uke moved to the forefront and guitar to the back (not to mention the bass and drums), I would usually only play guitar long enough to figure out a tab I was trying to transpose to uke..

Fast forward 9 months or so, and I'm in a band now, playing uke. I play only in a few songs and sometimes I'm more or less playing the rhythm acoustic parts and a couple of neat uke highlights. But my buddy (the bandleader and guitarist) asked me if I could get my strat going (or as I called it my electric long scale baritone uke- I had it strung with the DGBE strings:D) incase of string breaks or whatnot for shows, to have a backup guitar.

So after slappin a new set of strings on my electric (all 6 of them) I started jamming out on guitar for a while and, while it took a half hour or so to get used to the spacing, I'm kind of awesome at guitar!! I think I'm better than I was before I more or less stopped playing altogether for uke. Part of it is I am sure because I know loads more theory now, because of how much I transpose stuff to uke. I'm sure my timing is 400-500% better now from practicing with other musicians and a drummer. But a lot of it has got to come from how good I've gotten at uke.

Have any of you guys ever experienced this, that playing uke and almost no guitar can somehow make you better at guitar?

Yeah, I kind of find that playing anything else (including uke) gives me something I can bring to guitar.