Armitage Worth It?

the.ronin

Reaction score
I’m debating on a case for my Kamaka HF-3 (4-string tenor).

I have an opportunity to pick up a “brand new in box” AME-102 Armitage tenor case for $200 shipped. It’s from an eBay seller with good ratings offering a 7-day money back refund.

On the other hand, I can pick up a Ko’olau tenor case from MGM for $94 shipped. Goes without saying this comes with the confidence of quality and lightning fast shipping MGM is known for.

I’m not a professional performer – oh sooo far from it haha. On the other hand, I want what’s best for what I personally consider a prized investment.

From my research, both of these cases were practically made for the HF-3.

What do you folks think?

spend the big bucks and get the nice case: If you let anything happen to that uke...
fist.gif

That uke is beautiful....

If you have any humidity concerns where you live, go with the Ameritage. $200 is a very good deal on one of those. If you have no humidity concerns, I think the Ko'olau should be just fine. Keep in mind the Ameritage is about 3 times heavier than the Ko'olau case. I personally love Ameritage cases and own 5 of them (damn, do I really have that many??) but if you don't need the peace of mind the humidity system inside the Ameritage case offers, the Ko'olau will more than suffice.

Ameritage cases are super high quality to be sure - but unless you need something of that level - you live in the desert for instance - the Ko'olau will be great. I have a Ko'olau O'ahu case for my Kanile'a and it is a great fit and a great case and I have complete confidence that the uke is well protected.

Thanks guys for all your feedback. Living in So Cal (dryness not an issue?) and not being a professional performer, I was leaning towards the Ko’olau. But then I couldn’t resist paying just $100 more for an Armitage so I went with it.

Thank you, upskydowncloud for all your advice on this case!