Time for an Upgrade and I am really stuck between a couple. Help me!!!

UkuleleGator

Reaction score
So I told myself if I studied and got through the LSAT this past Saturday that I would upgrade my ukulele. So I made it and now I have to choose which Uke to go with. My current is a Kala Mahogany laminate concert ukulele. (75$)

To help out with the decision making process I narrowed it down that I like certain aspects in my Ukulele:

1. Pick-up - prefer it be active.
2. Gloss
3. Slotted headstock.
4. I like a mellow sounding ukulele so preferably mahogany. (What other woods are nice and melow like mahogany?)
5. cut-out as long as it is stylish. Sometimes that can be really tacky.
6. 400$ is my maximum and if I can spend less and get most of these that would be great!
7. I think I want solid wood but is it truly that different for me to spend a couple hundred more on my Ukulele? My current kala laminate is fantastic I just wonder what changes solid wood will make.
8. Must be Tenor.

I realize that that is a very specific ukulele setup but I can live without a couple of the aspects. If it has most of them and looks like a decent instrument I would settle.

So far I have found two Ukuleles that are pretty decent.

The one I really really like is the Kala KA TEME. It is the Flame Laminate Mahogany with an active pickup and It is a beautiful instrument and seems to sound good but there is little information about this ukulele out there. If anybody has any info on it let me know what you think. ($239)

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Flame-mahogany-Kala-Tenor-Ukulele-w-P-U-KA-TEME_W0QQitemZ330363122330QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item4ceb2d329a&_trksid=p4634.c0.m14.l1262

Next is the Kala ka ascme. It is a cutout with active pickup and solid Mahogany. Can be found here. I like it but seems to be kinda bland to me. Nothing really jumps out about it. I read the review here and it got great reviews so that did help but I just do not have the right feeling about it.